Why Valuing Relationships Over Money Can Change Your Life!

Bhramari
3 min readNov 27, 2023

--

It is crucial to carefully assess the individuals you choose to enter into partnerships with.

I recall the words of a billionaire who once remarked, ‘I prioritize relationships over money; I can recover from financial losses, but not from damaged relationships’.

In the past, I had my doubts about this perspective. However, something over the past two years has transformed the way I perceive it. Here’s the story of what reshaped my thinking.

In September 2021, my friend told me that he was going to the United Kingdom for further studies. Upon hearing this news, it made me want to visit the city.

When my friend told me about his plans, I told him, “I’ll come to see you.” This decision was made in my head in the backdrop of the ongoing COVID-19 threat.

I started by renewing my passport, which needed at least six months’ validity for travelling abroad. I also updated my ID card with the right address for the new passport delivery.

Actually, getting everything ready took a lot of time. It took me six months from January to June to sort everything out. When I was ready to apply for a visa, I faced another challenge — the visa processing took another three long months.

When I finally got my visa in September 2022, I had already resigned from my job for a better one, which usually meant I couldn’t travel during my notice period.

In this situation, I reached out to my manager and said, “My visa has just been approved. If it’s feasible for everyone, I’d like to go.”

To be honest, I expected a ‘no’ considering what we often hear about on LinkedIn. Most managers might not have liked this request.

But my manager surprised me. He said, “Go ahead, enjoy. I don’t get why they make people stay in the system for so long.”

I was amazed — taking a vacation during the notice period felt like a stroke of luck.

But what did this reaction reveal about my manager?

Was he simply indifferent or apathetic? Not at all. He was known for his diligence and valuable guidance.

But, what he demonstrated was empathy. He understood the nine months of hardship I had endured to get to this point. He recognized that stopping me might have been the rule, but it would not create any difference as I was already leaving.

This experience left a lasting impression on me. It taught me about the kind of leadership I aspire to embody in my own life.

The kind of leadership that puts empathy and understanding at its core, where individuals’ aspirations and circumstances are recognized and valued.

I understood that switching jobs for money is a good motivation but no amount of money can replace a good relationship that you build over time with people.

Even when you think you have built a good relationship, true colours shine in Times of Need. A good relationship will only make your life better.

Relationships over money. Always!

Thanks to my manager then I had my first international trip.

This is me from the beautiful London Bridge.

--

--

Bhramari

I draw on anecdotes from both my personal and professional life to craft my writings.